Brief Update – May 11th, 2010

Well, for all intents and purposes, Gone Cinema Poaching is most definitely dead in the water, at least for me – after another week of promise and silent renege from Chazz Lyon, we’ve all most of us given up on this venture. Which is a shame, because the initial intent of the website was something I’d really wanted to see move forward – but, what can you do, I guess. Well, I know what I can do – I’m applying for more writer’s positions, here and there. I won’t speak any names yet, because I don’t want to jinx my chances, but I’m sure if you  were to Slant your head, then all you Blog Critics might be able to see what I’m getting at – so to speak. More work coming in from EInsiders, although I have a review they seem to be adamantly keeping stored in the back for some occasion or another – if it doesn’t pop up on the site soon, I’ll throw it up here. Debra Granik’s amazing tone-poem Winter’s Bone, y’know.

Also, reviews up here  to come of Matthew Vaughn’s Kick Ass (a film that surprises, both because of how good it turned out and because of the dreck that was its source material), Jon Favreau’s Iron Man 2 (less narratively focused than its predecessor, but more formally interesting) and a look at Ang Lee’s vastly under-appreciated 2003 Hulk – one of the only films in recent memory that was actually critically lambasted  at the time of its release because it wasn’t dumb enough. No, no really. Still, it seems to be on the receiving end of a critical reappraisal, of late – so, I’ll throw my hat into the ring, with that.

Keep ya head up, Aggtown G’s.

Leave a Reply

