Trail Her

Martin Scorsese’s “Shutter Island”

I’m not quite sure what to think about this. It doesn’t really feel like a Scorsese film – or, if it does, the closest approximate I can think of would be Cape Fear, in that there’s a lot that seems like it could fall unintentionally into campiness. And, then there’s the ridiculous ‘gumshoe’ dialect that Dicaprio’s put on. It doesn’t work.

But then, maybe it’s just the way the trailer’s been edited (remember Roger Ebert’s mantra – “Never trust a trailer.” Wise, wise words). I could be entirely wrong. And, there are a couple of really beautiful shots that interest me.

Roland Emmerich’s “2012”

“Never trust a trailer…except when Roland Emmerich or Michael Bay is involved.”

Emmerich trades in ‘disaster movies,’ I understand that. And, his films generally promise nothing more than sheer ridiculous entertainment. And, that’s all well and good.

But. My god.  He’s done it. He’s passed into self-parody. I mean, that’s the only real explanation I can think of, for this.

“Ooooh, what’re the odds?”

2 thoughts on “Trail Her

  1. gcheath19 says:

    Although I agree it doesn’t look like a traditional Scorsese film, Shutter Island has some images to die for – like that ship coming out of the fog, Leo holding a disappearing Michelle Williams, and the great motif of fire, vibrant fire. Can’t wait.

  2. henryjbaugh says:

    Oh, I love that shot of the ship, especially – that, and the lighthouse viewed from the cliff, although I have a thing for those types of wide, panoramic shots. Really, there’s a lot of powerful imagery, here – but, then DiCaprio says something; I won’t say for certain, but I imagine that will probably make a dent even in the finished film.

    It was a toss-up, this past week, at the Angelika – “Public Enemies” or “Moon.” After reading your piece on it, I feel like making another cross-town trek.

Leave a Reply

