“Best of the 2000’s” – Discussion the Third

– “The Best of the Decade Project” is an ongoing series of essays written by Match Cuts and The Filmist concerning the finest films of the last ten years.

oldboy_posterwall_e_movie_poster

 

For those thusly interested, Glenn has posted the third of our planned discussions – though, of course, they’re completely unrehearsed – comparing and contrasting our picks for the eight-spot on our respective lists of the Best of the Decade. It’s a real humdinger (or a corker, whichever you prefer), I think – and, you can find it here.

 

***

 

Oh, and ‘fore I go off forgetting, like I do, I’d like to take a minute and mention Pathogen, the zombie movie written and directed in 2005 by then-twelve year old Emily Hagen, now seventeen.  Being that it was a movie made by a twelve year old, you’ve got to take for granted the lack of budget, the bad sound (because it was filmed on a video camcorder),  and the use of her mother’s office as a science laboratory  – but, behind all that, Hagen’s burgeoning directorial talent really does shine through. It’s raw, and it’s unfocused, and it’s more than a little hazy a lot of the time, but it’s there. She knows how to frame a shot, which is certainly more than I can say for me at twelve – I tried to do the same thing, once. And, all that came of it, at the end of the day, was a fumbling shot of feet running through the lawn of the local old folk’s home.

So, good on her, and I can’t wait to see what she does next.



Tagged , ,

Leave a comment